Mediclinic, a leading international private healthcare services group, announces that Dr Ronnie van der Merwe (Chief Clinical Officer and Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”) Designate) will succeed Danie Meintjes as CEO of the Company on 1 June 2018 and will be appointed as an Executive Director of the Company with effect from that date. This follows on from the previous announcements made regarding Mr Meintjes’ intention to retire as CEO by 31 July 2018 (published on 25 July 2017) and the subsequent announcement of Dr Van der Merwe being designated as his successor (published on 27 November 2017). Dr Van der Merwe will also become a member of the Clinical Performance and Sustainability and Investment Committees with effect from 1 June 2018.

Mr Meintjes will remain an Executive Director of the Company until the conclusion of the Company’s Annual General Meeting (“AGM”) to be held on 25 July 2018.

The Board has also agreed to certain other changes to the Board and its Committees. Dr Felicity Harvey will take over from Dr Edwin Hertzog as Chair of the Clinical Performance and Sustainability Committee and Dr Muhadditha Al Hashimi will join the Committee as an additional member, both with effect from 1 April 2018. Dr Hertzog will remain a member of the Committee.

In addition, Ms Nandi Mandela and Prof Dr Robert Leu will retire as Non-executive Directors of the Company at the conclusion of the AGM. They will also retire from all relevant Board Committees at that time and further appointments will be made to those committees in due course.

Mediclinic’s Chairman, Dr Edwin Hertzog commented:

“On behalf of my colleagues on the Board, I would like to thank Nandi and Robert for their commitment and valued contributions to the Board and the Group – in Robert’s case during 25 years, firstly as a Director of Hirslanden AG, then Mediclinic International Limited and since 2016, as a Director of Mediclinic International plc. We are using the opportunity afforded by their retirement to further refresh the Board. In the meantime, we welcome Felicity’s appointment as Chair of the Clinical Performance and Sustainability Committee and Muhadditha becoming a member of that Committee."

Investor Contacts
James Arnold
Head of Investor Relations
Media Contacts
FTI Consulting